Recreational Cannabis Law

Beginning in Illinois on January 1, 2020, adults 21 years of age or older can legally possess, consume and purchase certain amounts of recreational cannabis with a few exceptions. The Alton Police Department reminds residents that the only lawful place to consume recreational cannabis is inside your private residence or on your personal private property outside of public view.

Here are some important highlights of the new recreational cannabis law:

  • You must be 21 years old or older to purchase, possess or use cannabis except where authorized by the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Act or the Community College Cannabis Vocational Pilot Program.
  • An Illinois resident who is 21 years of age or older will be able to lawfully possess 30 grams of cannabis flower, no more than 500 milligrams of THC contained in cannabis-infused products, and 5 grams of cannabis concentrate.
  • It is illegal to operate, navigate or be in actual physical control of any motor vehicle, aircraft, watercraft, or snowmobile while using or under the influence of cannabis.
  • It is illegal to transport cannabis in a vehicle unless the cannabis is in a reasonably secured, sealed container and it is reasonably inaccessible while the vehicle is moving. It is also illegal to use cannabis in any motor vehicle.
  • The use of cannabis is prohibited in a school bus, on the grounds of any preschool, primary or secondary school, in a private residence that is used at any time to provide licensed child care or other similar social service care on the premises or in any public place, including bars, restaurants, parks, and any place where you could reasonably be expected to be observed by others.
  • The possession of cannabis is prohibited in a school bus, on the grounds of any preschool, primary or secondary school, or in a private residence that is used at any time to provide licensed child care or other similar social service care on the premises.
  • It is illegal to knowingly use cannabis in close physical proximity to anyone younger than 21 years of age who is not a registered medical cannabis patient under the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act.
  • It is illegal to smoke cannabis anyplace where cannabis is prohibited under the Smoke-Free Illinois Act.
  • It is illegal to facilitate the use of cannabis by any person who is not allowed to use cannabis under the Illinois Cannabis Tax & Regulation Act.
  • It is illegal to transfer cannabis to any person contrary to the Illinois Cannabis Tax & Regulation Act
  • Only licensed recreational dispensaries will be allowed to sell recreational cannabis products.

The Alton Police Department also reminds residents to be respectful of their neighbors while using recreational cannabis. Please contact the police department at 618-463-3505 if you have any further questions about the recreational cannabis law.



1.  Hours, Months, and Days Permitted:  Outdoor leaf burning in the City shall be permitted only on Wednesdays and Saturdays of each week during the months of OctoberNovember, and December, and from April 15 through May 30 and only between the hours of ten o’clock (10:00) A.M. and six o’clock (6:00) P.M. of each day.  Outdoor leaf burning shall not be permitted at any other time other than those set forth in this Section.  This Section shall not apply to the Park and Recreation Department of the City or to any cemetery located in the City. (Ord. 65168-9-2000).

2.  Containers:  Such burning shall be permitted only in containers located not less than fifteen feet (15′) from any building or structure on private property only, except that the Park Department of the City may conduct such outdoor leaf burning on publicly owned property, which burning shall be under direct Park Department supervision, and cemeteries may conduct such outdoor leaf burning under direct and continuous supervision.  A “container” is defined as a metal burning barrel not to exceed fifty-five (55) gallon capacity or a mesh barrel approximately the same size.

3.  Burning On Public Streets Prohibited:  Outdoor leaf burning shall be prohibited at all times on or in any public street or alley in the City.

4.  Burning Of Leaves Only:  Outdoor leaf burning shall include only leaves fallen from trees, plants, and shrubs.  It shall not include burning of any trash, garbage, or other disposables or any other material of any nature whatsoever.  The burning of anything other than leaves, plants, or shrubs is a violation of City ordinance.  The Police Department tickets violators.


Leaf and lawn burning, recreational fires, portable outdoor fireplaces, and bonfires shall be constantly attended until the fire is extinguished.  A minimum of one portable fire extinguisher with a minimum of a 4A rating, garden hose, water barrel, or water truck, shall be available for immediate utilization.


Open burning that is offensive or objectionable because of smoke emissions or when atmospheric conditions or local circumstances make such fires hazardous shall be prohibited.  If these conditions are present the fire department may order the extinguishment of the fire.

Flammable and/or Combustible liquids are NOT allowed to ignite or maintain open burning.


Alton Animal Control is staffed with one Animal Control Officer. You can call Animal Control at 618.463.3553 for other redemption arrangements, animal control complaints, and report any animal situations.  Please contact the Alton Police Department at 618.463.3505 for animal emergencies on nights and weekends.

  • Alton does have and enforces a leash law
  • The owner of any dog not under restraint shall be in violation of the City Code.
  • Alton has a law requiring pet owners to clean up after their pets. Failure to do so could result in a fine.
  • Pets cannot cause a nuisance for neighbors.


Alton PD-Unmanned Aircraft Systems Policy